Wednesday, December 15, 2010

New Journal: Journal for the History of Analytical Philosophy

This week marks the official launch of the new Journal for the History of Analytical Philosophy. I think it is a very exciting opportunity for scholars working in this field. I would emphasize the open access character of the journal. All articles will be freely available in electronic form. The hope is that the journal can provide a forum for rigorous scholarship for the broadly conceived history of analytic philosophy.

As the mission statement of the journal indicates:
JHAP aims to promote research in and discussion of the history of analytical philosophy. ‘Analytical’ is understood broadly and we aim to cover the complete history of analytical philosophy, including the most recent one. JHAP takes the history of analytical philosophy to be part of analytical philosophy. Accordingly, it publishes historical research that interacts with the ongoing concerns of analytical philosophy and with the history of other twentieth century philosophical traditions. In addition to research articles, JHAP publishes discussion notes and reviews.
This goes some way to addressing Leiter's recent skeptical remark that "I trust they will publish articles that also explain how what used to be an actual movement in philosophy ceased to exist!" I would suggest that one of the issues worth discussing in the journal itself is the sort of position that Leiter alludes to here. But of course I also hope that more ordinary scholarship directed at questions in the history of analytic philosophers, and their relations to other philosophers, can be addressed.

The editorial team is

Editor in Chief
Mark Textor, King's College London, UK

Associate Editors
Juliet Floyd, Boston University, US
Greg Frost-Arnold, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, US
Sandra Lapointe, Kansas State University, US
Douglas Patterson, Kansas State University, US
Chris Pincock, Purdue University, US
Richard Zach, University of Calgary, CAN

Assistant Editor
Ryan Hickerson, Western Oregon University, US

Review Editor
Mirja Hartimo, University of Helsinki, FI

and the advisory board is

Steve Awodey, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Michael Beaney, University of York, UK
Arianna Betti, Free University of Amsterdam, NL
Patricia Blanchette, University of Notre Dame, US
Richard Creath, Arizona State University, US
Michael Friedman, Stanford University
Leila Haaparanta, University of Tempere, FI
Tom Hurka, University of Toronto, CAN
Peter Hylton, University of Illinois, Chicago, US
Bernard Linsky, University of Alberta, CAN
Ulrich Majer, University of Göttigen, D
Paolo Mancosu, University of California, Berkeley, US
Volker Peckhaus, University of Paderborn, D
Eva Picardi, University of Bologna, IT
Ian Proops, University of Texas, Austin, US
Erich Reck, University of California, Riverside
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia, CAN
Thomas Ricketts, Pittsburgh University, US
Peter Simons, Trinity College Dublin, IRE
Thomas Uebel, University of Mancherster, UK
Joan Weiner, Indiana University, Bloomington, US
Jan Wolenski, Jagiellonian University, PL

No comments: